Zach had a vision that he wanted to be an elementary teacher. Strengthening his vision were three particular teachers in the Ortonville School. Thanks to each of them.

To keep Zach’s dream alive, we have set up a scholarship endowment fund at First English Lutheran Church. One  scholarship will be awarded to the selected applicant, providing the individual is in pursuit of a post high school education.


Application criteria:

· The scholarship is open to the public.

· All religious denominations may apply.

· Applicant must be attending college or vocational school.

· Application deadline is April 30 each year.

· Scholarships will be chosen prior to the close of the active school year.

· Scholarships will be awarded following the completion of the first semester of the of the upcoming education year.

· All applicants will be considered.


To apply for the scholarship

send your request for an application to:


First English Lutheran Church

Zach Kafka Memorial Scholarship Endowment

9 NW 3rd St

Ortonville, MN 56278

Phone: 320-839-2527




E-mail to:


If you would like to DONATE to the

Zach Kafka Memorial Scholarship Endowment,

please send your tax-deductible contribution to

 First English Lutheran Church at the above address.


2010 Scholarship Recipients

Nicole Gustafson-NDSCS Whapeton ($1,000)

Charles Kolstad-U of St Thomas ($500)

Alissa Tinklenberg-Gustavus Adolphus ($500)


2009 Scholarship Recipients

Paul Adelman-U of M Crookston ($500)

Casey Arndt-U of M Crookston ($500)


2008 Scholarship Recipients

Kyle Giese-MSCTC Moorhead ($500)

Zach Larson-MSU Moorhead ($500)

Amy Laskowski-UND Grand Forks ($500)

Curtis Nelson-Univ of MN Duluth ($500)


2007 Scholarship Recipients

Kyle Arndt, Alexandria Tech College ($500)

Jessie Bailey, Northwest College-Orange City ($250)

Erin Peterson, Univ of MN-Duluth ($250)


2006 Scholarship Recipient

Dan Schmeichel, Sioux Falls College ($500)


2005 Scholarship Recipient

Tom Bailey, Ridgewater College-Willmar ($500)


Accepting Applications through April 30


2004 Art Project

“Robbed by a Split”

2004 Art Project

“Her Lloyd, thyz heirs.”


September 13, 1985 to July 27, 2004  ALWAYS IN OUR MEMORY

Text Box: Remember Zach in the NET!

Zach Kafka Memorial Scholarship

 Make a Tax Deductible Contribution         

Congratulations to the 2009

Zach Kafka Memorial Scholarship Winners


2010 Scholarship Recipients

Nicole Gustafson-NDSCS Wahpeton ($1,000)

Charles Kolstad-U of St Thomas ($500)

Alissa Tinklenberg-Gustavus Adolphus ($500)